top of page

Psalm 90


"From Everlasting to Everlasting... a Prayer of Moses, the man of God."


What a strange Psalm.


Life is short.


I'm 28 years old. Young. Whatever.


If 70-80 years is the rule-of-thumb, according to Moses, then I should feel pretty good about the time I've got left.


And yet, when I read Psalm 90 this afternoon, I felt alarmingly mortal.


Today, I am young. But young or old, what is irrefutably true in this Psalm is that my life is fragile. My plans for tomorrow are tentative... speculative.


In the scope of eternity, my life is like a breath.


"So teach [me] to number [my] days that [I] may get a heart of wisdom."


On a Tuesday afternoon, I realize this devotion is not entirely uplifting. But I share all of this with you because honestly, after that aforementioned dose of mortality, I felt a surprising amount of resolve and peace.


One day, I will die. My body will rot in the ground.


Today, though, I am satisfied.


Today is what I have; nothing more is needed. I am here because this is where I'm meant to be.


God has been gracious to me.


Give me a heart of wisdom, O God, that I would number my days. That I would live with clear purpose. That Your work would be established in the work of my own hands.


"...establish the work of our hands upon us, yes, establish the work of our hands!"


Amen.



bottom of page